Romancing the camera

Musée du Louvre

I was in France this week to spend Christmas with friends, and I took the opportunity to snap these pictures with my five-year-old digital camera (Canon IXUS 860 IS). I have yet to get the DVD containing our lessons, so to get me started I just read The ultimate beginner’s guide to digital photography, a magazine I bought recently and brought with me for this trip. I also visited a number of websites, and this collection of photography tutorials was particularly helpful.

I’m starting off this series with the following shots of architectural buildings that show vertical lines.

La Basilique du Sacré Coeur de Montmartre

Hôtel National des Invalides

Hôtel National des Invalides

Hôtel National des Invalides

Le Théâtre du Palais des Glaces

Arc de Triomphe

Pantheon

Panthéon

Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne

Château de Versailles

Featured structures are (from top): Musée du Louvre (photo 1), La Basilique du Sacré Coeur de Montmartre (photo 2), Hôtel National des Invalides (photos 3, 4 and 5), Le Théâtre du Palais des Glaces (photo 6), Arc de Triomphe (photo 7), Pantheon (photo 8 and 9), Université Paris (photo 10), and Château de Versailles (photo 11)

Please click the pictures to enlarge.

Leave a Reply

